Ham Sandwich

“The word “ham” is derived from the Old English ham or hom meaning the hollow or bend of the knee, from a Germanic base where it meant ‘crooked’. It gained the meaning of the leg of an animal around the 15th century.”

When I was a child, I lied about everything.

It’s refreshing to lie when the truth is so banal.

I liked to be the center of attention,

my teachers called me a ham,

and for years I thought they called me that

because ham tastes good and everyone likes it.

~ by Shawn M. Young on May 24, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
