I Am Not a Drone

One summer I spent a lot of time watching wasps.

They had built nests on my porch.

Their behavior, especially for a communally social animal,

is very human once one crosses the threshold of definition.

After all, we are as much nature as a wasp is us,

but their nature is foreign.

They were a menace, as prescribed.

Otherwise, had they not made homes where I must

walk, I would have left them alone.

I killed them all.

Such is nature. Such is me.

~ by Shawn M. Young on May 24, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
