1820 – Lost Dream

I wrote the loveliest poem in a dream,

unhinged and addled as I was.

And though no lines remained in the morn,

I can still feel the song.

 

The rhyme, the rhythm sang like a dream,

I composed each line with care.

The couch was cold and so were my feet,

but the riff came out of thin air.

 

I told myself aloud, in my fugue state,

work hard and “try to remember,”

but as the sun bled in over the horizon,

I left my dream with disdain and dismember.

 

Alas, my poem was lost, and the lines erased,

the night is the cruelest that there is.

The magic in my head danced in sundry carapace,

but my memory failed to chime in.

 

Perhaps a new night will reveal the lost beauty,

one can hope and eventually dream.

So tonight I plan to gently nudge it along,

and work hard to fill up a ream.

~ by Shawn M. Young on April 14, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
