Skyscrapers Like Monuments to Us

Nothing makes me happier,

sang a crying widower; once,

upon a treetop, I saw her

heart, her tears stained my

hand, and then she disappeared,

 

like this bottle, like a whisper,

 

and I sat alone under that tree,

toothless and happy, because

I fell so far for her, and now,

when I’m darkened, I can see her,

again in this light, pure; true;

 

like paint on a rail, and my

 

wrinkles pour out, reverb

and candles, like it was when

we met; 1965; our skies colored

the same tint, patrons of crass,

love, and saints of genuflection,

 

our shadows stand as giants in time

 

but then is never again, and my

beloved is a grassy spot in a field,

how does it end like this? Metal

tastes cold when it’s snowing,

long last, my love, at long last.

~ by Shawn M. Young on December 16, 2016.

2 Responses to “Skyscrapers Like Monuments to Us”

  1. Beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
