New Year’s Gaiety

If you don’t know the rules,

make them up;

 

it’s as hard as a penny,

and cruler than

a old, angry man,

 

but the purple mountain

glow, never stopped me

from trying,

 

but it stopped you,

always.

 

Here’s a rhyming part:

 

In a light, tripping

flounder,

 

I will wince, and

I will wonder,

 

forever in the sink,

we circle the drain,

 

stand in false sense,

and shovel our pain.

 

Back to this:

 

In wilting time,

I watch from a silly

height,

 

the _  key on my keyboard

doesn’t work,

 

but I am contented by

its willingness to

express in silence.

 

I lied, the “m” key

does work; I would

worry if you wondered.

 

Take my hand this next

time, and we can fire

 

our stove with

coal and bunting,

 

in a passive role,

the dog will play

Richard Burton,

 

though I am drunker

than him, his clarity

 

surpasses; even you.

~ by Shawn M. Young on December 31, 2016.

One Response to “New Year’s Gaiety”

  1. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

Leave a Reply

 
