Among Iceland’s Greatest Dons

Across the divide, in between the dogwood
and valley green, I tasted your lips, like a
pure sugar—sweet, as the sun blistered, and
I held you in my arms, and I can smell the
water still: sensuous and sinewy, much like
this day in the North, as the light fades into
the dark, we quench our thirsts upon one
another, and sate our needs in the glen on
day, and drink from our essence, and drip
honey into the grape leaves pour greens,
and sour blend, supple friend, so moist in
the night’s air, sunk into our bound life, all
have failed to capture this moment, this
glory, but our hands grasp and lock with
unctuous sunder, belay no blunder, perhaps
we’ll lose each moment as plague eats our brains,
but rest in your bed tonight, my sweet, wonder
and life live on, no memory sanctions to one’s
attention, for it lives in spite at mere inception

 

Ain’t nothing wrong with love poems…

If you like this, check out my chapbook on Amazon full of love poems.

~ by Shawn M. Young on July 27, 2017.

5 Responses to “Among Iceland’s Greatest Dons”

  1. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

  2. I enjoyed this entry a lot – I miss a few postings here and there but what I do is I pick on someone and circuit back and take sometime catching up, as I did on your blog today – read the new publication and enjoyed it thoroughly via a brand new Tindle app off Amazon. Amazing voice – this is a site is a lily on the web.

    • Wonderful to hear. It’s readers like you that inspire me to continue posting here. Thank you very much for your kind words.

      • I think of these sites as flowers, particularly the poetry, that anoint the web in colours. I think try to write a bit like you funnily enough, if you get my meaning, and reading other peoples stuff takes up a part of almost every day and finding you is cool. Please keep it together and continue with the good words of narrious voisage. In other words, keep typing and posting friend!

      • Such kind words. Thank you, good sir.

Leave a Reply

 
