June Nineteenth or How Tim Made Me Hate Poetry (Draft)

I want to travel 

to where wisdom is king,

that is my dream, my longing,

so many days wasted on

man, on men, too many days

forgotten for money, power,

I want new dreams, and

new knowledge, I am

losing touch, I am samurai,

falling on my own sword

to satiate my desire for

youth, apologize; in old age,

 afore

we used afore, I now want

the wine of youth, to

pour it out for quests,

for liberty for all, for

the youth is wasted on

the youth, afterall, and after

all is after us all, I think I

am lost, 

like when I was reading

Bukowski, in the front room,

poems posthumously printed,

by a lover and friend a scar,

it is easier to understand when

you are wizened and gruff,

it’s more fun to understand

when you have given it all up,

or when you have nothing,

when you grapes at life,

and grasp at death, and

you still proofread when it

suits your needs and your 

vision, 

what a feeling, to be

in, to be out, 

to become fallow

and frosted and buried enlivened,

where the free verse poets fight

the rhymers, in hand-to-hand combat,

for the eye of one admirer,

you’ll never admit that,

like when you read

TS Eliot in college and felt

fresh and moved,

and reread at as an adult,

and felt fooled and invalidated,

I want to go there

again, away from process, before

I hated knowing, before I was

trite, a predictable cur, before I

could define words, before I was

asked to answer, 

I want to ask again, I want

to sing in the shower for the 

first time, to fall from grace, to

wish for all night coffee, and no

regrets, it’s a crawl to get out of

bed some days, 

but I do, and it’s hot, and

then I’m not, and the day begins

again, just at the beginning,

just when I meant for it to,

45 and still a child, 45 is

the worst number I know,

I hope tomorrow is different

again

~ by Shawn M. Young on June 19, 2024.

Leave a comment